National Curriculum

At Caldecote Primary School, we strive to offer a broad and balanced curriculum that promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of all pupils.  We believe our curriculum should prepare pupils for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life.  The curriculum is made up of both the statutory curriculum, which is set out in the new National Curriculum 2014 (see link below), and wider opportunities and experiences that help develop our pupils into responsible citizens with a life-long love of learning.

Learning is always exciting and is taught in meaningful contexts which are relevant to pupils. Where commonality exists across subjects and aspects, learning is linked and lessons are planned and taught using a cross-curricular approach. Where this is not achievable, subjects are taught discretely. The rehearsal and application of basic skills learned in the core curriculum (particularly maths and English) is a driver for the entire curriculum.

We place a strong emphasis on the development of the basic skills necessary to be confident, independent learners and successful adults.  All pupils engage in daily English and maths lessons and there is an expectation that the skills learned are applied and rehearsed in all other subjects where the opportunity arises. 

Alongside basic skills, we prioritise the development of a strong sense of  moral purpose, anchored in British values, through our assemblies, PSHE and school council.  They actively learn respect and understanding of people who have different characteristics to themselves, whether that be age, disability, gender, race or sexuality. A rigorous, well planned curriculum, delivered by excellent staff in an ethos of care  and support, enables our pupils to be well rounded, empathetic young people who have a thirst for learning and respect for the world around them.

The new National Curriculum - Primary (2014) can be viewed via this link.

The programmes of study for the subjects taught under the National Curriculum can be viewed below.

  1. Science programme of study (Dec 2015)
  2. PSHE programme of study
  3. RE programme of study
  4. Music programme of study
  5. PE programme of study
  6. Art & Design programme of study
  7. Computing programme of study
  8. Design & Technology programme of study
  9. English programme of study
  10. Geography programme of study
  11. History programme of study
  12. Languages programme of study (for key stage 2)
  13. Maths programme of study

Latest Tweets